Art at the Park: December 2017

opening
Holly Kai Park: Art at the Park December 2016

Art at the Park’s December exhibition opens on Saturday, December 3rd, and runs through until the end of the month. For the final display of 2016, we’re pleased to announce the following artists will be exhibiting with us throughout the month: Owl Dragonash, Kayly Iali, Frankx Lefavre, Kody Meyers, Bluesrocker Resident, and Caitlin Tobias

The exhibition opens at 12:00 noon SLT on Saturday, December 3rd with music from Winston Ackland, followed by streamed music courtesy of Brad Chambers and the Martini in the Morning crew.  Formal attire is requested for this event, which will take place at Art in the Park dance area, surrounded on three sides by the exhibited art.

About the Artists

Owl Dragonash

owl “I’ve been wanting to see Owl display her art at Holly Kai since taking over curating the exhibition spaces,” Inara Pey says of Owl Dragonash. “Unfortunately, time and circumstances has been working against us until now, and I’m utterly thrilled that she is able to be with us now.

“Owl’s art – and her writing – are always thought-provoking and beautifully conceived and presented. I’ve been in awe of her work for a long time, and through it, she has taught me a few things which I hope have improved my own attempts at SL photography.”

For her part, Owl says of herself, “I explore, go to Live Music shows, Hang out, Take Photos, Blog,  Host Art exhibits, Host & Book Live music  For Commune Utopia.

“This exhibit is a foray into playing with Firestorm and Photo shop  photography tools. I enjoy playing with photos and exploring  my look and Second Life builds. So this is a mix of photos of me and places I like in SL.”

You can also see more of Owl’s work in her Flickr stream.

Kayly Iali

kayly“I am an representational oil painter. My paintings are usually small, finished up in one or two sitting so my brush strokes are instant and expressive. I sell these paintings on Etsy and Daily Paintworks.

“I started my art career back in 2009 after graduating from California State University at Sacramento in studio arts. Since then I had been painted in oils while perfecting my drawing and painting skills.

“My recent accomplishment was to be juried into a major regional art competition, the Crocker/Kingsley Art Competition. I was one of 75 selected out of 1200 applicants.

“I also teach portrait drawing and calligraphy.

“I came into SL in 2010 and started exhibiting in 2010. I had showings at major art sims like Pirats, Space 4 Arts, Windlight…Star Journey…to name a few.”

Frankx Lefavre

frankxHaving joined Second Life in 2008, Frankx Lefavre has established himself as a major 3D artist in the creation of immersive environments focused on the use of light, colour, and for rendering glass-like structures and items of incredible complexity and beauty.

He his displayed extensively with the Linden Endowment for the Arts, including Glass and Light (January 2014), Insidious: the Spread of Ideas (June 2014), Qualia: The Sentience of Being (June – December 2014), Cocytus, The 9th Circle of Hell (January – June 2015), Glass and Light Breakwave (October – December 2015) and the deeply personal Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitor (January – June 2016). He has also been exhibited at the University of Western Australia, and at Second Life Birthday celebrations.

“Frankx’s use of colour and the beautiful, glass-like structures he seems to spin out of thin air for many of his pieces captivated me the first time I witnessed his work with Glass and Light in 2014,” Inara Pey says of his work. “Since then, I’ve made a point of seeing as many of his exhibits and installations as possible, and have never ceased to be amazed with his work, which should really be experienced in order to be truly appreciated, rather than written about.

“I’m absolutely delighted Frankx agreed to be a part of Art at the Park.”

Kody Meyers

kody“Capturing the wonderful ambiance and environments created by so many talented landscapers in Second Life is my way to relax and explore my imagination.

“Each picture depicts a story or is a reminder of an experience one can reflect upon when admiring it. As a perfectionist, I take the time necessary to capture the picture, experimenting with different angles, framings and windlights, until the perfect shot is created — the one that comes alive.

“Using different programs and techniques to create my pictures, the result is always a surprise. My goal is to portray the magic behind the raw image. To be able to contribute to peace and happiness in this world is an honor and an endless pleasure.”

Kody’s work can also be seen on his Flickr stream.

Bluesrocker Resident

bluesrocker“I’ve been involved in the arts most of my life. Coming from a musical background, I have had a very keen appreciation of the creative process, whether it be in music,  the performing arts, painting, writing or photography. Having that interest sparked my involvement in the artistic possibilities of Second Life.

“As for the creating of the photos, I much prefer shooting out on location in the multitude of amazing sims which populate SL than in a studio, as I feel I get much better results that way.  Since starting seriously taking photographs in SL about two years ago, I have broadened my horizons in what wonders this virtual world has to offer.  Really, the only limits are those of the imagination.

“I like to be diverse in my works, and I love taking portraits, landscapes and profile photos equally. Wherever my muse takes me at any given time.

“In addition to SL photography, I currently  run an SL travel blog, Blue Bones Bagat with my partner Bones Delicioso-Rocker, a chronicle of our journeys through the various amazing builds Second Life has to offer.”

To see more of my  work you can go to my Flickr page.

Caitlin Tobias

caitlinCaitlin has been active in Second Life since 2007, and for a long time was involved in katana fighting using the C:si combat system. In 212 she put up her swords and switched to blogging and photography in Second Life. she has been a featured blogger for RFL Fantasy Faire since 2014, and manages the [SL] Blogger Support website.

“Taking pictures in Second Life is a hobby and I do not consider myself an SL Artist,” Caitlin says modestly of herself. “I do not own Photoshop, but like to play with some filters in free software such as PicMonkey – but mostly I use the inworld windlights and shadows. I am an avid snapshotter, not a photographer.

“For this exhibition I asked six good friends one simple question, would you pose with me?  And the answer to their question on what to wear was: “Come as you are”, which made me think of Nirvana’s song and gave me a title for the piece. Come As You Are is not just posing, it is about accepting friends – as they are.

“I have used the same pose (by Del May) for all six and the men in them are: Almost Finished (nearly.doune), Temperance Haalan (tem.haalan), Huckleberry Hax, Grabriel (gabriel4botto.resident), JC Underwood and Brad Zeurra, and I want to thank them so much for their time and patience!

You can also try your hand at photographing yourself and a friend using the provided poses and backdrop.

Our Opening Event Musician

winston-ackland
Winston Ackland

Winston Ackland is making his first appearance at Holly Kai Park. An accomplished physical world musician, who in-world provides smiles and tapping feet with his clever original works and quirky adaptations of obscure covers. Somehow, it all makes sense as audiences relax in a comfortable atmosphere and enjoy innovative songs crafted from a blend of rock, blues, bossa nova, jazz and lounge.

In 2008, Winston’s physical and virtual lives merged when his cover of Lithium hit the big screen in 20th Century Fox Films, Marley and Me.  In 2012 his cover of Psycho Killer was featured in Oliver Stone’s Savages.

SLurl Details

One thought on “Art at the Park: December 2017

Leave a Reply

